Luck o’ the Irish

As anyone who knows me well can tell you (or if you noticed around Valentine’s), I love any excuse to be festive. And the third festive event of the calendar year is, of course, St. Patrick’s Day! It also happens to be the birthday of one of my dear friends, so there has always been more than one reason to celebrate, and definitely a party to be had 😉

This year, however, I may not be able to get into a bar after work (what with the crowds and lines etc), so the festivities on my end are going to be quite low-key (perhaps a green nail polish and some gold eyeshadow). But I got to thinking about something other than green beer: “The Luck O’ the Irish.”

Luck is a funny thing. Some people swear it doesn’t exist, while others carry around charms to summon more of the good stuff into their lives. I’ll admit, I’m a bit superstitious myself, so I’m a believer. I won’t open an umbrella inside, and if I say something that Murphy’s Law could use to bite me in the butt, I’ll knock on wood; I’ve re-worn outfits for multiple exams because I did well while wearing it for the first test, and I hold on to all of my “collector” coins. Hell, I even like to eat Lucky Charms (if they’re on sale. $7 a box? Yeah, right.).

I’m also a big believer in positive attitudes and having an optimistic outlook. I believe in working hard to accomplish something. I believe that if you have an opportunity, you should take it. To me, luck doesn’t mean good things happening to you simply because you are lucky. To a degree, I think that you get back what you put into the world. If you’re good to the world, it will be good to you. But it’s silly to sit around and wait for the good to come back to you.

Phrase it how you will, but I’ll stick with the theme: Make your own luck. Seek out opportunities and outlets to do things that you are interested in doing. Learn all you can about a job you’re interested in, so you can be ready when a posting comes up (or when you send your own inquiry). Preparation is key to so many things, even if the opportunity hasn’t arisen yet. LuStay on the safe side and avoid throwing negative juju into the world (you know what they say about karma..) #GoodVibesOnly. Basically, you set yourself up for success.

And it isn’t just restricted to things you are interested in. Tagging along with a friend to events that you wouldn’t normally go to could mean discovering a new passion or meeting someone who could change your life. Following the same logic, hang out with different kinds of people. Don’t pass up a chance to try something new. If you approach an open door, don’t close it; see what’s on the other side (metaphorically, of course. Walking through all open doors sounds potentially dangerous and also could be trespassing.). Trust your instincts, but also trust signs around you. Like if you’ve seen a pair of shoes you’ve been eyeing for weeks go on sale and there are three advertisements for this great deal on your commute home, it’s obviously the universe telling you to indulge. It must just be  “your lucky day!” 😉

I know we can all get wary when things seem to be going “too well” or our luck seems “too good to be true.” In those cases, it’s important to take a step back and view the situation from a logical perspective. Think about why things are going well. What has lead to all of this positivity? You’ve probably worked hard for it. And if you haven’t directly worked hard for it, there’s likely something in your past that has led you to it. Not in an “everything happens for a reason” kind of way; I mean more that you’ve probably done the hard work and put in the time in another way, and this seemingly effortless scenario has come about because of the groundwork and perseverance of before. Or maybe it’s just a great idea that came to you at a great time and things are falling into place because others recognize the potential. Either way, nothing is purely serendipity.

Maybe luck is something we manifest ourselves. Maybe using lucky charms or pendants or having lucky numbers just makes us focus our energy in more positive ways that lead to positive gains. I certainly don’t know, and I don’t think anyone can scientifically prove one way or another. But I think anything we can do to contribute to the good in the world is worth doing. And if believing in and spreading luck does that, I’m all in.

Luck-of-the-Irish-Chalk-Art-St-Patty-Printable-madeinaday.com_-800x640

Happy St. Patrick’s Day, everyone!

 

— kisses, Kate.

One thought on “Luck o’ the Irish

Leave a Reply

