The 89th Academy Awards

It’s that day again! Celebrities are walking the Red Carpet, nominees are trying to not crumple their acceptance speech notes (just in case) and prepping for what could be the biggest moment in their careers, and we’re tuned in from home.

Bottles have been popped, cheese and charcuterie board has been made, and my red-carpet red lip has been applied.  I love the spectacle of the Academy Awards. 

img_0501

I love seeing the beautiful dresses and taking time to appreciate and respect the time and effort put in to the couture gowns. I love watching underdogs win awards that many people forget even exist. I love crying at the moving acceptance speeches. I love sitting on the edge of my seat, waiting to see who wins the big awards.

 

I am particularly excited about this season’s Oscars. The talent pool is so deep and diverse and the stories that have been told this year are moving and so important. While I haven’t seen many of the nominated films, they are pretty much all on “my list” to see. Hidden Figures was amazing and absolutely inspired me; I can’t even imagine how important it would be for young girls (especially young girls of colour) to see that story told. La La Land speaks to the dreamer and artist in all of us. Moonlight and Fences looked incredible and I heard great things about Lion. 

Add to all that the fantastic list of foreign films and documentaries? It’s a great season and I’m very excited to see the ceremony.

img_0476

As I sit here with my champagne, I am already content with my decision to skip the mascara: I’ve already teared up three times, and we haven’t even left the Red Carpet.

We haven’t seen all of the fabulous looks, but Taraji P. Henson’s Alberta Ferretti and Kirsten Dunst’s Dior are two that I am loving. Both went for classic dark silhouettes with statement bling, I’m here for it.

The detailing on the gowns worn by Chrissy Teigen, Janelle Monae, and Hailee Steinfeld is astonishing. And I’m really loving all of the gold tones. SIGH. I just love it all.

chrissy-teigen89th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals89th Annual Academy Awards - Arrivals

With Emma Stone’s beautifully whimsical Golden Globes dress, I’m not surprised with her decision tonight. Her Givenchy dress is very classic, in-keeping with her jazzy role.

emma-stone

As for tuxes, Dev Patel is looking mighty fine in his white jacket, and Riz Ahmed is slaying in his blue Ermenegildo Zegna Couture. And I need to give a shout out to Mahershala Ali in all-black.

dev-patel-2017-oscarsriz-ahmed-2017-oscarsmahershala-ali-oscars-4

Ugh. Everything. Hello, Hollywood.

I hope everyone has the best night filled with your own forms of glitz and glamour. Enjoy the show; may we all be blessed with the friendship of Viola and Meryl, the faces of Denzel and Ryan Gosling, and inspiring words from emotional winners.

Cheers!

img_0502

 

–kisses, Kate.

Leave a Reply

