Valentine’s Guide 2017

Whether you love it or hate it, Valentine’s Day is right around the corner! Personally, I love celebrating, I love pink and I love love, so I love this holiday!

Luckily, Pinterest loves Valentine’s as well, so I’ve been browsing through whimsical, lovey-dovey heaven for the past two weeks, and I thought I would share some of my favourite ideas to celebrate! Keep in mind, the important thing really is the thought and sentiments behind any sort of gift or gesture, especially on Valentine’s Day! But if you’re looking to make the day a little more special than the 13th or 15th, here are a few ideas.

Date Ideas:

♥   Stay in with a Movie Fort

Get one of each of your favourite movies, drape sheets, pop some popcorn and cuddle up! Fairy lights are optional, but very much add to the romantic feel.

movie-fort

♥   Cozy Up to Each Other Outside in the Chilly Air

Going for a romantic wintery stroll or skating at the outdoor rink is the perfect February activity! Especially when you’re as lucky as me and your city has something like Hot Chocolate Fest to help you warm up!

View More: http://sarahbeauphotography.pass.us/katekeenan
Sarah Beau Photography

♥   Cook Together

Whether it’s breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, or every meal of the day, cooking together can be super fun! I like these festive ideas where everything is heart shaped (or red).

 

Treat Him:

♥   Cute Socks and Underwear

Everyone wears it, everyone needs it. I have fun holiday themed underwear, why shouldn’t guys? You don’t need to put a lot of pressure on V-day gifts because it’s about the love, so why not have fun with it? Also, I know the pink ones aren’t the most fun and festive, but they’re apparently really comfy, and that’s probably more important than a pattern to match the Sasquatch socks.

sitm_mens_fun_holiday_sasquatch_valentine_socks_large2undr

♥   A Nice New Scent

(or 10, like with this sampler set). Sense of smell is the sense strongest linked to memory, so he will subconsciously remember your great Valentine’s Day whenever he wears the scent.commodity

♥  Snazzy Travel Gear

Something like a nice backpack or a travel essentials bag is something he will get real use out of and think of you each time. How #romantic is that? 😉

 

 

Treat Her:

♥  Also Cute Underwear

Because obviously! Something like this bralette and billowy shorts set just screams comfort and ease, both of which you want to feel around your love.

aerie-womens

♥ A Nice Throw Pillow

I love throw pillows. They’re comfy, they’re cute, they enhance the style of your room, they’re just great. This one in particular has colours that I love (and that are perfect for V-day), and the phrase is whimsical and lightly romantic.

too-much-to-dream-pillow

♥  Festive Makeup

I wasn’t sure whether to put this here or in the next category, but I figured that something like this highlighting palette is so pretty that it would be lovely to receive as a gift! Let her know how much you think she glows from within with a palette to help her glow from her cheeks, too. 😉 illuminate-highlighters

♥ Flowers

365 days of the year, and twice on 2/14. 😉

flowers

 

Treat Yourself:

♥   A Bow Choker

Because you are a gift.

velvet-bow-necklace

♥  A Lovely Mani

Next to seasonally-appropriate lipsticks, festive manicures are the easiest way to get in the holiday spirit! This one is one of the simplest and cutest that I’ve seen.

vday-nails

♥  A Red Dress

Skater dresses are pretty universally flattering, and this one has cap-sleeves to keep it a bit more casual and pretty scallop detailing to add something interesting. And of course, it’s in the perfect Valentine’s red!

proof-of-perfection-skater-dress

 

DIY:

♥  Heart Everything

Obviously.

heart-garlandheart-sticksmason-jar-heart-valentine

♥  Cutest Cards

Last year, I gave my boyfriend a card from a local artist. It had two waffles (one with a bow, one with a ball cap) and it said “I love you a waffle lot” and it is still one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen. This one is a keeper too:

pizza-my-heart-card

 

 

Phew! Writing this post has given me plenty of ideas for celebrating with my beau this Valentine’s Day, I hope you found some inspiration as well! Whether it’s celebrating with a significant other, a sibling, a parent, a best friend, or having a full out Galentine’s party, I hope I helped with some fun ideas! I hope you have a blast celebrating love and an awesome week leading up to the “big day”!

 

 

–kisses, Kate.

3 thoughts on “Valentine’s Guide 2017

Leave a Reply

