Alternate Routes

I had a plan in place for the next four months. It was one that included having two jobs. While starting training for one, everything was in place for the other as a near sure-thing. You can guess from the preface that things with the second job fell through.

I was arguably more qualified for the second job than I was the first. It was a job I could do (and have done) practically in my sleep. Along with the disappointment and confusion I felt when I heard the company was going in another direction, I started to panic: what was I going to do about the money I need to save for my trip to France in May? Having two jobs would have put me in a great position for that, with a head start for fall tuition. I started telling myself “I can make it work with one job, I can make it work with one job,” until I calmed down and believed: I can make it work with one job. It’s going to involve a lot more conscious saving and frugality, but it is completely possible. I’m starting to research budgeting tips and “life hacks” to save money, and I think I may turn it into a bit of a series. That way, maybe I can help someone else out in a similar situation while keeping myself accountable for staying responsible with my money. Stay tuned.

Having the second job fall though may have been a blessing in disguise. I didn’t really have any huge desire to return; it felt like a step backward. I’ll admit, it was the easy option. I will now have to work harder and be more careful, but I will gain invaluable knowledge by making that effort to be smart with my money. And, I will have a significant amount more free time to work on the goals I set for myself for 2017: I will have time to put real effort into my Fashion Essentials course, time to practice my French, I will be able to workout more, and I’ll have more time for the people I care about.

I finished my training this evening for my “first” job, and I’m feeling really good about things moving forward. The people are all super nice, and many of them share my goofy-yet-sarcastic sense of humour. I’m thinking with a clearer head, and I’m optimistic.

It really does go to show that even if you have a plan, it’s okay if it doesn’t work out exactly the way you wanted. It’s okay if you don’t get the chance to follow the steps you’ve laid out for yourself. As long as you figure out a way to not let it defeat you, there are silver linings to be found.

And who knows? The alternate route may bring you exactly the opportunity you’ve been waiting for.

 

 

–kisses, Kate.

Leave a Reply

