Goals and Resolutions

In keeping with the spirit of the New Year, I’ve been thinking of ways to make the most of and improve my life and how I live it. This past September, I really pushed myself to be more organized: I used a planner almost religiously, I made my bed (nearly) every day, and I became known as the girl in class “with the best notes” (no big deal, #humblebrag). Along with an interest in what I was studying and a sheer determination to meet my GPA requirements for transferring programs, my newfound organizational skills helped me to achieve results for my best semester to date. With more free time and a renewed resolve to capitalize on opportunities for productivity, I find myself truly excited for the year ahead.

I’m not typically one for setting resolutions or overarching goals, but I wasn’t always one for organization either, and that worked out well. I think there are new and exciting things coming my way this year, and I plan on embracing that which is thrown at me.

My goals for the year are specific yet broad, and I’ve set up some resolutions that I think will help me achieve those goals while contributing to a better life overall. Here are my personal goals and resolutions for 2017:

Goals

  • Learn calligraphy/lettering

    This is pretty straightforward, but I love the look of this creative expression. Something about giving a grocery list the pizazz of a wedding announcement seems both eccentric and entirely wonderful to me. I admire people with many skills, but I’d really love to be able to call this one of my own.

  • Explore my love of fashion

    Continuing on with creative aspects, I’ve always been quite interested in fashion and all aspects of design, though I’ve never pursued anything of that sort. Towards the end of last year, I rediscovered this interest and decided that I would start to find out more about fashion and search for aspects of the industry that I could be interested in pursuing. In my research, I came across a program through Parsons School of Design and Teen Vogue called Fashion Industry Essentials. I am officially enrolled and my goal is to be finished by summer (around July)!

  • Be responsible financially

    I’ve made it through 4 years of university without loans, and I would love to extend that stretch. I am going on a group study trip to Tours, France in the spring and my tuition for next year is set to rise significantly in my new program. With both of those expenses “looming,” I know that I have to be smart with my money from the get-go this year. I’d also love to be able to contribute significantly to my retirement fund, because that’s what adults do. And I’m an adult. (Hah.)

  • Have abs for summer

    Because hey, “getting healthy” is a lame and unspecific goal, and I’m otherwise fairly happy with my body.

Processed with VSCO with x1 preset

17 Resolutions for ’17

  • drink more water daily
  • get into a sleep schedule/get enough sleep
  • eat healthy/regularly (this is hard without a 9-5 job)
  • workout once a week: 20 reps of one focus move per day
  • keep headspace and physical space clean
  • blog regularly (twice a week)
  • develop routines
  • utilize tools available (journal, planner, weekly calendar, sticky notes)
  • continue life organization
  • take time for pampering and self-love
  • embrace everything that I love: guilty pleasures, hobbies, friends, etc
  • nurture relationships
  • be more patient and understanding
  • study Parsons course 2 hours each week
  • practice French 1 hour each week
  • take chances: go after anything with the potential to interest or inspire
  • make the most of this year we’ve been given; do what is possible to improve the world.

IMG_0057-2.JPG

Let me know what if you have any goals or resolutions for the new year, or if any of these sound interesting or helpful to you! I always like to have people to hold me accountable for actually realizing my goals; we can do it together!

Until next time!

 

–kisses, Kate.

5 thoughts on “Goals and Resolutions

Leave a Reply

